The Early Horn

Arcangelo & Ursula Paludan Monberg (Horn)

The Mozarts—father Leopold and son Wolfgang Amadeus—bookend a virtuosic recital from Ursula Paludan Monberg, who traces the development of the natural horn as a solo instrument throughout the eighteenth century. Painstakingly researched, the programme includes a number of works retrieved from the archives at the University of Lund, Sweden.

Featured works

  • Leopold Mozart: Sinfonia da camera
  • Anon.: Concerto in E Major
  • Graun: Trio in D Major
  • Joseph Haydn: Divertimento a 3 Hob IV:5
  • Telemann: Concerto a 3 in F Major TWV42:F14
  • Anon.: Concerto in E Flat Major
  • Graun: Concerto in D Major
  • Mozart: Horn Quintet in E Flat Major K407

Press & Praise


The Danish horn player Ursula Paludan Monberg, thoroughly in command of her instrument, produces a miraculously smooth and agile line with secure tuning. She forms euphonious partnerships with oboe d’amore player Katharina Spreckelsen, violinist Michael Gurevich and recorder player Sarah Humphrys, while the continuo section of Arcangelo, led by Jonathan Cohen’s harpsichord, provides firm support. The recording convincingly places the listener in the room with the players, tying down the notoriously elusive horn to a precise spot on the soundstage. Excellent notes by Monberg’s former teacher Andrew Clark enhance the appeal of this disc.


“We’re now so used to hearing the untempered sound of period brass instruments that Ursula Paludan Monberg’s natural horn playing sounds, well, normal, so well-attuned is it to the repertoire she’s chosen for this solo anthology. Never underestimate the phenomenal difficulty of what she’s doing, though … the young Danish virtuoso Monberg achieves miracles with a length of unadorned brass tubing … Jonathan Cohen’s Arcangelo provide lithe, colourful support.”


Album Details

  • Released February 2020
  • Hyperion Records | CDA68289
  • Recorded November 2018


  • Ursula Paludan Monberg (Horn)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (Direction)


BBC Music Magazine

Chamber choice, May 2020

Buy Now

Presto Music