Arcangelo & Christiane Karg (Soprano)

Emotional scenes that tear at the heart strings: concert arias are great dramas reduced to a few minutes and focussed on one single character. Following the success of their first collaboration on ‘Amoretti’, Arcangelo and Christiane Karg present a tempestuous array of scenarios and characters in music by Joseph Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Mendelssohn.

Featured works

  • Beethoven: Ah! Perfido Op. 65
  • Mozart: Ch’io mi scordi di te?… Non temer, amato bene K505
  • Jospeh Haydn: Miseri noi! Misera patria! Hob.XXIVa:7
  • Joseph Haydn: Berenice, che fai? (Scena di Berenice) Hob XXIVa:10
  • Mozart: Misera, dove son? – Ah! non son’ io che parlo! K369
  • Mendelssohn: Infelice Op. 94, MWV H5

Press & Praise


[This CD] finds [Karg] reinforcing her Mozartian credentials while seemingly auditioning for the more dramatic roles she will surely get in the not-too-distant future. Karg’s soprano has a metallic gleam that cuts through the buoyant ensemble playing of Arcangelo, who, directed by Jonathan Cohen, are responsive to all the scenery-chewing moodswings.


“There’s a lovely sense of exploration and discovery about this project, both in terms of the repertoire and Karg’s own vocal qualities…we’re clearly in the presence of a singer who knows her instrument inside out and husbands her resources judiciously in service of the music rather than blowing a gasket trying to emulate her predecessors.


“Throughout, Karg holds vocal finesse and expressive intensity in near-ideal equipoise…Singing with style, grace and fiery temperament, Karg brings each of these distraught heroines excitingly, individually alive, while the superb players of Arcangelo – not least the dulcet clarinets – are true dramatic partners rather than mere accompanists.”

Album Details

  • Released June 2015
  • Berlin Classics | 0300646BC
  • Recorded November 2014


  • Christiane Karg (Soprano)
  • Alina Pogostkina (Violin)
  • Malcolm Martineau (Pianoforte)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (Direction)


Gramophone Awards

Finalist 2016

Gramophone Magazine

Editor’s choice Jul 2015


Buy Now

Presto Music