Love and Loss: Monteverdi Madrigals

Arcangelo & James Gilchrist (Tenor)

In their first recording as a vocal and instrumental group, Arcangelo present a selection from Monteverdi’s last three books of madrigals. These ardent and passionate works are microcosms of Monteverdi’s great operas, and among his most celebrated music. Celebrated tenor James Gilchrist joins the ensemble to narrate the celebrated Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda.

Featured works

  • Monteverdi: Ballo: Volgendo il ciel – Movete al mio bel suon
  • Monteverdi: Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
  • Monteverdi: Or che ‘l ciel e la terra e ‘l vento tace
  • Monteverdi: Ohimè, dov’è il mio ben, dov’è il mio core?
  • Monteverdi: Zefiro torna e ‘l bel tempo rimena
  • Monteverdi: Ohimè il bel viso, ohimè il soave sguardo
  • Monteverdi: Sestina: Lagrime d’amante al sepolcro dell’amata

Press & Praise


“The first impression given by the opening track on this disc is of enormous energy and breadth. There is some superb singing from the assured and polished tenor Thomas Walker, while even more impressive is the remarkably full-bodied sound and glorious instrumental textures from the dozen players.”


“Of the two emotional foci of the disc, the Combattimento and the Sestina, the former is the more draining listening, thanks to the thrilling, visceral singing of James Gilchrist, in whose narration is summoned up every sword clash, every colour of the night, and almost every exhausted breath. I can’t imagine better performances of the middle-of-the- programme madrigals.


Album Details

  • Released February 2014
  • Hyperion Records | CDA68019
  • Recorded March 2013


  • James Gilchrist (Tenor)
  • Katherine Watson, Anna Dennis, Tim Mead, Samuel Boden, Thomas Walker, Callum Thorpe (Vocal Consort)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (Direction)

Buy Now

Presto Music


Session Gallery