Haydn: Organ Concertos

Arcangelo & Iain Quinn (Organ)

Iain Quinn is joined by Arcangelo and Jonathan Cohen in this recording of organ concertos by Haydn, recorded on the Grant, Degens, and Bradbeer organ of St Mary’s, Woodford. The violinist Sophie Gent joins the forces for the double concerto (No. 6). Concertos Nos 1 and 2 for organ are among the composer’s earliest works, and seem to have been written in the 1750s, before Haydn entered into the employ of the Esterházys, in 1761. It is possible that they could have been written for the organ in the Bohemian Chancellery chapel at the Judenplatz in Vienna, where Haydn was briefly employed. The double concerto dates from 1766, when Haydn was fully established as a composer and Kapellmeister.

Featured works

  • Joseph Haydn: Organ Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Hob. XVIII:1
  • Joseph Haydn: Organ Concerto No. 6 in F Major, Hob. XVIII:6
  • Joseph Haydn: Organ Concerto No. 2 in D Major, Hob. XVIII:2
  • Joseph Haydn: Organ Concerto No. 10 in C Major, Hob. XVIII:10

Press & Praise


Already [Haydn’s] innovative style marks him out as a singular genius, and Quinn’s urbane performances of the C and D major solo concertos, joined by Sophie Gent in the F major double concerto, are stylishly accompanied by Cohen’s period band.


“These cheery works are Haydn’s earliest concertos…Iain Quinn is both spirited and elegant, and nicely matches Sophie Gent’s clean, direct style in the F major Concerto…These are thoroughly enjoyable, glowingly recorded performances of music that offers limited scope for ‘interpretation.

Album Details

  • Released September 2019
  • Chandos Records | CHAN20118
  • Recorded March 2019


  • Iain Quinn (Organ)
  • Sophie Gent (Violin)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (Direction)


Buy Now

Presto Music