Enchanted Forest

Arcangelo & Anna Prohaska (Soprano)

Singing Baroque arias by Cavalli, Handel, Monteverdi, Morley, Purcell, and Vivaldi – Anna Prohaska vividly brings life to all the fairy-like characters who inhabit this extraordinary music. Favoured by such maestri as Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, and Pierre Boulez – Anna Prohaska, with Enchanted Forest, demonstrates a mature mastery of coloratura and cantilena singing.

Featured works

  • Vivaldi: ‘Alma oppressa’ from La Fida Ninfa RV 714
  • Handel: ‘Combattuta de due venti’ from Giove in Argo HWV A14
  • Purcell: Hornpipe in D Minor from The Fairy Queen Z629
  • Purcell: ‘Mark how readily each pliant string’ from Raise The Voice Z 334
  • Handel: ‘Felicissima quest’alma’ from Apollo e Dafne HWV 122
  • Handel: ‘Come in ciel benigna stella’ from Apollo e Dafne HWV 122
  • Purcell: Curtain tune on a Ground from Timon of Athens Z632
  • Handel: ‘Furie Terribili’ from Rinaldo HWV7
  • Handel: ‘Tornami a vagheggiar’ from Alcina HWV34
  • Purcell: Hornpipe in G Minor from The Fairy Queen Z629
  • Purcell: ‘O let me forever weep’ from The Fairy Queen Z629
  • Purcell: ‘See, even Night herself is here’ from The Fairy Queen Z629
  • Cavalli: ‘Restino imbalsamate’ from La Calisto
  • Cavalli: ‘O Piu d’ogni Ricchezza’ from Gli Amori d’Apollo e di Dafne
  • Monteverdi: Lamento della Ninfa from Il Ottavo Libro de Madrigali

Press & Praise


“Prohaska has a strong-centred voice with a slightly dark colouring which is striking in itself…the more outgoing and technically demanding Handel and Vivaldi arias certainly come off effectively, with Prohaska’s sometimes unconventional ornamentation adding a characterful twist.”


“She’s wonderful in 17th-century music, spinning out the lines of a Purcell chaconne and negotiating Cavalli’s recitatives-cum-ariosos with impeccable understanding and style. Arcangelo under Jonathan Cohen are breathtaking throughout..


“…superlative backing from Jonathan Cohen’s instrumental group Arcangelo. In a programme ranging from Monteverdi to Handel the plus points are delicate tone, exuberant ornamentation and echo effects in a wonderful Cavalli aria.”

Album Details

  • Released March 2013
  • DG Archiv | 4790077


  • Anna Prohaska (Soprano)
  • Samuel Boden (Tenor)
  • Ashley Riches (Bass)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (Direction)


Buy Now

Presto Music