Our Team

Jonathan Cohen

Artistic Director

Jonathan Cohen has forged a remarkable career as a conductor, cellist and keyboardist. Well known for his passion and commitment to chamber music Jonathan is equally at home in such diverse activities as baroque opera and the classical symphonic repertoire. He is the new Artistic Director of the Handel and Haydn Society, in addition to continuing as Artistic Director of Arcangelo, Music Director of Les Violons du Roy and Artistic Director of Tetbury Festival.

Read more...

Throughout the 23-24 season, Jonathan continues to have a strong presence on both sides of the Atlantic. In Europe he guest conducts Budapest Festival Orchestra, Kammerorchester Basel, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liege and Hessischer Rundfunk Sinfonieorhcester.  In his first season as their new Artistic Direcor, Jonathan leads the Handel & Haydn Society in Baroque masterpieces including Handel’s Israel in Egypt and Messiah. He conducts further performances of Messiah with San Francisco Symphony whilst projects with Les Violons du Roy include Bach’s Christmas Oratorio and a US tour with Milos Karadaglic.

Jonathan founded Arcangelo in 2010 to create high quality bespoke projects. The ensemble was the first named Baroque Ensemble in Residence at Wigmore Hall, where it enjoys a continuing close association, and has toured to exceptional halls and festivals including Philharmonie Berlin, Vienna Konzerthaus, Barbican Centre, Kölner Philharmonie, Salzburg Festival, MA Festival Bruges, with three appearances at the BBC Proms including the premiere of Handel ‘Theodora’ (2018) and a televised performance of Bach ‘St Matthew Passion’ (2021).

Arcangelo’s founding commitment to the recording studio has produced 28 critically lauded albums including most recently  ‘Tiranno’ with Kate Lindsey (Alpha; Sunday Times Records of the Year 2021).  and ‘Sacroprofano’ with Tim Mead (Alpha; 2023).

Our Team

Julian Forbes

General Manager

julian@arcangelo.org.uk

+44 7789 755 702

David Clegg

Head of Artistic Personnel & Casting

david@arcangelo.org.uk

+44 7973 862 775

Hattie Garrard

Artistic Projects Manager

hattie@arcangelo.org.uk

James Halliday

Artistic Adviser & Librarian

james@arcangelo.org.uk

Nathan Giorgetti

Assistant Producer

nathan@arcangelo.org.uk

Victoria Hodgkinson

Trusts & Foundations Executive

victoria@arcangelo.org.uk

Nick Ullmann

Orchestra Manager

Board of Trustees

Sir Nicholas Kenyon

Chair of the Board of Trustees

chair@arcangelo.org.uk

Maren Brandes

Trustee

Jonathan Cohen

Trustee

Justin Nuccio

Trustee

Professor Clive Potter

Trustee

Melissa de-Fry

Trustee

Carolyn Maddox

Trustee

Rosalyn Wilkinson

Trustee